Examine Me Oh Lord

01/03/2015 12:06

Meditation for today


Scripture verse. 

Examine me, O Lord, and prove me: try my reins and my heart. 

Psalm 26:2  KJV


King David of Israel is speaking to the Lord in this psalm showing us how to communicate with the Lord. This Psalm chapter should be read in it's entirety - only twelve short verses.

It is a good and solid indicator of how to go about speaking to the Lord.  David is speaking intimately with his God.  They are friends and well acquainted yet there is the respect for the One who knows and sees all.

David himself is a king and knows what is expected of a king and also knows the Lord chose him to be king and all these facts are evidenced in this short prayer of an earthly king, to the King of all Kings.

This is a psalm that we should desire to say to our Lord.  Some of us can say it now and know that it is true but others of us still have some spiritual growth to achieve before we can say the words.

Let it be our goal to be able to speak these words to Jesus and let this psalm not be our stumblingblock.

Prayer

Lord Jesus, you know my heart, you know the work that has to be done.  I want to have this kind of integrity.  Please redeem me and be merciful to me.  Amen.